Text Resize

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Washingtonians Celebrate Educators and School Communities at Annual Standing Ovation for DC Public Schools

Monday, February 11, 2019

Washingtonians Celebrate Educators and School Communities at Annual Standing Ovation for DC Public Schools

(Washington, DC) – Mayor Muriel Bowser, Acting DC Public Schools (DCPS) Chancellor Lewis D. Ferebee, and more than 3,000 members of the DCPS community honored educators who are committed to ensuring every student feels loved, challenged, and prepared to positively influence society and thrive in life at the ninth annual Standing Ovation for DC Public Schools.

Standing Ovation is an annual event that brings together teachers, civic leaders, and officials from the arts and business communities to celebrate top DCPS educators. It features celebrity guests, musical performances, and video tributes. The celebration is a hallmark of the district’s work to recruit, develop, and retain a talented, caring, and diverse team.

“Every year, we are proud to come together and celebrate the teachers, administrators, and staff members who work every day to make a positive difference in the lives of our young people,” said Mayor Muriel Bowser. “This Fair Shot February, we recognize the important role our schools and educators play in building a city where every Washingtonian has the opportunity to live up to their full potential.”

This year’s event featured actor, educator, activist, and Duke Ellington School of the Arts alumnus Lamman Rucker, three-time Grammy-nominee Flo Rida, and CNN Senior Diplomatic Correspondent Michelle Kosinski. Standing Ovation winners represented every ward in the city and are nominated throughout the year by parents, teachers, and other community members.

“During my first few weeks at DCPS, I’ve had the opportunity to meet phenomenal educators and school staff throughout the District, and they are the reason DCPS has made such incredible progress over the years,” said Acting DC Public Schools Chancellor Lewis D. Ferebee. “Congratulations to the 2019 award winners and thank you for your incredible work on behalf of our students.”

“The DC Ed Fund is so honored and proud to host an event that celebrates our educators and school communities that go above and beyond for kids every day,” said Jeanie Lee, President and Executive Director of the DC Public Education Fund, which hosts the event. “Standing Ovation brings together supporters from across sectors, including business, philanthropy, and government, in one incredible night to thank and celebrate DC Public Schools.”

The 2019 Standing Ovation Excellence Award winners are:

  • Principal of the Year: Maisha Riddlesprigger, Ketcham Elementary School (Ward 8)
  • Teacher of the Year: Lakeisha Brown, Lafayette Elementary School (Ward 4)
  • School Staff Member of the Year: Gloria Torrento, Administrative Officer, Seaton Elementary School (Ward 6)

Schools were surprised with awards for Equity, Empowered Team, Innovation for Excellence, Whole Child, and Together with Families during the event. Each school received a $25,000 award.

Rubenstein Winners for Excellence in Leadership

  • Holly Searl, Principal, Ross Elementary School (Ward 2)
  • Maria Tukeva, Principal, Columba Heights Education Campus (Ward 1)
  • Michael Redmond, Assistant Principal, Truesdell Education Campus (Ward 4)
  • Sandra Cole, Assistant Principal, Langdon Elementary School (Ward 5)
  • Kemi Husbands, Principal, Langdon Elementary School (Ward 5)

Rubenstein Winners for Excellence in Teaching

  • Gary Hamilton, 3rd grade teacher, Wheatley Education Campus (Ward 5)
  • Premila Mistry, music teacher, Eaton Elementary School (Ward 3)
  • Michelle Johnson, K/1st blend teacher, Van Ness Elementary School (Ward 6)
  • Erika Leadholm, 2nd grade English language arts teacher, Malcolm X Elementary School (Ward 8)
  • Baxter O’Brien, 3rd-5th grade autism teacher, Langley Elementary School (Ward 5)

Rubenstein Winners for Excellence Among School Staff

  • Mark Lewis, Reading Specialist, Eaton Elementary School (Ward 3)
  • Dennis Rowe, Custodial foreman, Cardozo Education Campus (Ward 1)
  • Waynonia Potts-Harris, Social Worker, Anacostia High School (Ward 8)
  • Angela Harriston, Instructional Coach, Woodson High School (Ward 7)
  • Otis Davis, Custodial foreman, Stanton Elementary School (Ward 8)

Alice and David M. Rubenstein have generously provided cash prizes for 300 educators at Standing Ovation since 2010. For more information, visit www.standingovationfordcps.org.