Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


DC Public Schools

OCTO is aware of the global issue with CrowdStrike’s update impacting Windows servers and computers. CrowdStrike has identified the issue and a fix. We are supporting District agencies to ensure operations continue. At this time, District operations are not experiencing major impacts.

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Rubenstein Awards for Highly Effective Teaching - 2012

The Rubenstein Awards for Highly Effective Teaching recognize the success of DCPS teachers with a $5,000 award. Award winners were nominated by DCPS educators, students, parents, and community members, and then selected by a DCPS central office panel.

The awards are funded through the generosity of David Rubenstein, co-founder and managing director of the Carlyle Group and chairman of the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. Eligible teachers must earn a rating of Highly Effective under IMPACT.

The Rubenstein Award for Highly Effective Teaching winners are recognized at the annual Standing Ovation for DC Teachers, hosted by DC Public Education Fund and held at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.

Rubenstein Award Winners for Highly Effective Teaching -  School Year 2011-2012

  • Laura Amling, Preschool and Pre-Kindergarten Teacher, Powell Elementary School
  • Tennille Bowser, Eleventh Grade English Teacher, Wilson High School
  • Bethany Bronson, Sixth and Seventh Grade English Language Arts Teacher, Wheatley Education Campus
  • Melissa Bryant, Fourth Grade Math and Science Teacher, Stanton Elementary School
  • Kristofer Comeforo, Academic Dean (Previously Chemistry Teacher), Anacostia Senior High School
  • Drew Gallagher, Third Grade Teacher, Bruce-Monroe Elementary School @ Parkview
  • Paul Gerber, Sixth and Seventh Grade English Humanities Teacher, Oyster-Adams Bilingual School
  • Scott David Harding, Jr., Preschool Teacher, Maury Elementary School
  • Yolanda Johnson, Second and Third Grade Dual Language Teacher, Cleveland Elementary School
  • Jennifer Kate Krystopowicz, Second through Fifth Grade Self-Contained Special Education Teacher, Tyler Elementary School
  • Josie Malone, English Language Arts Teacher, Phelps Architecture, Construction, and Engineering High School
  • Asha Mathur, Math Teacher, Murch Elementary School
  • Karen McDowell, Second Grade English as a Second Language Teacher, Thomson Elementary School
  • Rebecca Millner, Ninth Grade World History Teacher, Eastern Senior High School
  • Cynthia Mostoller, Social Studies Teacher, Alice Deal Middle School
  • Stephanie Page-Baxter, Second Grade Teacher, Raymond Education Campus
  • Kenneth Robinson, Fourth Grade Teacher, Hendley Elementary School
  • Jacqueline T. Smith, English Language Learner Special Education Inclusion Teacher, Hart Middle School
  • Kelly Vergamini, Special Education – Autism Program Teacher, Ludlow-Taylor Elementary School
  • Jimmie Roberts, Math and English Teacher to English Language Learners, MacFarland Middle School
  • Lisa M. Davis, Kindergarten Paraprofessional, Marie Reed Community Learning Center
  • Eric Taylor, School Maintenance Worker, H.D. Cooke Elementary School