Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


DC Public Schools
-A +A
Bookmark and Share

DCPS Awards Outstanding Teachers and School Leaders

Thursday, October 4, 2012
DCPS Launches Season of Teacher Celebration

Beginning this month, District of Columbia Public Schools (DCPS) will celebrate and honor the District’s high performing teachers and school leaders with teaching and leadership awards. These awards come with $5,000 or $10,000 prizes in recognition of their work on behalf of DCPS students.

This week, the first of the awards begins with the announcement of the Rubenstein Award winners. The Rubenstein Awards recognize outstanding, highly effective teachers, principals, and support staff for their hard work, talent, and dedication to the students of DCPS. This year, hundreds of highly effective educators were nominated by DCPS educators, students, parents, and community members. Of these nominees, 27 educators were selected as Rubenstein Award winners by a DCPS central office panel.

“Our best teachers make their classrooms exciting places to learn for their students, and their students, in turn, reap the benefits,” said DCPS Chancellor Kaya Henderson. “We know that our teachers face enormous challenges, and the best teachers overcome them while ensuring their students are able to succeed and thrive. With David Rubenstein’s help, we give these teachers well-deserved thanks and public recognition for everything that they do.”

“Our teachers are some of the hardest-working and most dedicated employees we have in the District of Columbia,” said Mayor Vincent C. Gray. “High-performing teachers help produce high-performing students, and the Rubenstein Awards honor the cream of an exceptional crop. I want to congratulate our winners and thank them for their hard work, as well as thank David Rubenstein for the support he provides to honor these eminently worthy public servants.”

The award, which comes with a $5,000 prize, is possible thanks to the generosity of Mr. David Rubenstein, co-founder and managing director of the Carlyle Group and chairman of the Kennedy Center, who believes that highly effective educators should be rewarded for the important work they do every day.  The full list of winners is included below.

“We know that highly effective teachers have a greater impact on student achievement than their less effective counterparts, which is why I honor DCPS’ most engaged and passionate educators and reward them for the hard work they do each day,” said David Rubenstein.

Other announcements expected this month include the Excellence in Teaching awards, the Teacher of the Year and the Principal of the Year. This month of celebration will culminate with A Standing Ovation for DC Teachers on January 14th,  a formal event at the Kennedy Center that brings together the DC community to celebrate and reward DCPS teachers and leadership who earned the honor of being rated highly effective on IMPACT, DCPS’ evaluation system. This year, DCPS has nearly 1,000 highly effective teachers and 123 principals who will attend the event.  Additionally, there will be musical performances as well as tributes from students, school leaders, and civic leaders.

Rubenstein Award for Highly Effective Leadership

  • Harry Hughes, Principal, Tubman Elementary School
  • Caroline John, Principal, Stanton Elementary School
  • David Landeryou, Principal, Key Elementary School
  • Lynn Main, Principal, Lafayette Elementary School
  • Annie Mair, Principal, Cleveland Elementary School

Rubenstein Award for Highly Effective Teaching

  • Laura Amling, Preschool, Powell Elementary School
  • Bethany Bronson, English Language Arts, Wheatley Education Campus
  • Tennille Bowser, General Education, Wilson Senior High School
  • Melissa Bryant, 4th Grade, Stanton Elementary School
  • Kristofer Comeforo, Science, Anacostia High School
  • Kelly Gaines, Intermediate Autism, Ludlow-Taylor Elementary School
  • Drew Gallagher, 3rd Grade, Bruce-Monroe Education Campus
  • Paul Gerber, English Language Arts, Oyster-Adams Bilingual School
  • Scott Harding, Preschool, Maury Elementary School
  • Yolanda Johnson, 3rd Grade, Cleveland Elementary School
  • Jennifer Krystopowicz, Special Education, Tyler Elementary School
  • Josie Malone, British Literature, Phelps High School
  • Asha Mathur, 4th Grade, Murch Elementary School
  • Karen McDowell, 2nd Grade ESL, Thomson Elementary School
  • Rebecca Millner, Resource Teacher, Eastern High School
  • Cynthia Mostoller, 8th Grade Social Studies, Deal Middle School
  • Stephanie Page-Baxter, 3rd Grade, Raymond Education Campus
  • Jimmie Roberts, Resource Teacher, MacFarland Middle School
  • Kenneth Robinson, 4th Grade, Hendley Elementary School
  • Jacqueline Smith, 7th Grade Special Education, Hart Middle School

Rubenstein Award for Highly Effective Support Staff

  • Lisa Davis, Educational Aide, Reed Learning Center
  • Eric Taylor, Custodian, H.D. Cooke Elementary School

Contact: Melissa Salmanowitz | 202-535-1096