Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


DC Public Schools
-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Six DC Public Schools Seniors Awarded Full-Ride Scholarships to George Washington University

Friday, March 8, 2024
Exemplary students from five schools receive the Stephen Joel Trachtenberg Scholarship

(WASHINGTON, DC) — Yesterday, six students from DC Public Schools (DCPS) were offered full, four-year scholarships to George Washington University (GW) during surprise reveal events at their schools. The students are Jaeden Gbaba from Columbia Heights Educational Campus, Edward Hoover and Zyad Shahrli from Jackson-Reed High School, Jaden Degruy from Benjamin Banneker High School, Aanisah Myers from Eastern High School, and Constance Johnson from Theodore Roosevelt High School. These scholars were awarded the Stephen Joel Trachtenberg Scholarship (SJT), which covers all tuition, room and board, books, and fees for four years at the university.

“The bright young scholars who have received this year’s SJT scholarships are a testament to GW and DCPS’ shared commitment of education in our nation’s capital,” said DCPS Chancellor, Dr. Lewis D. Ferebee. “I am grateful that our students will enter the next phase of their educational journey with not just financial support, but with a village of mentors in Foggy Bottom committed to their success. As a proud GW alumnus, I am honored that these six seniors will continue their education in the District.” 

For more than 30 years, DCPS has appreciated the partnership of GW for opening the door to higher education for outstanding high school students in DC through the university’s SJT program. The program has awarded scholarships to more than 200 students since the program began in 1989.